Quick Links
Government Documents
Indexes | Federal Government | Maps
| Quick Links | |
|---|---|
|
Federal Government |
Texas Government Library
|
DEPOSITORY INFORMATION
Government Documents and maps are located on the 2nd floor of Steen Library at Stephen F. Austin State University. Stephen F. Austin has been a federal depository since 1965, and a Texas state depository since 1973. It serves U.S. Congressional District 1 in East Texas. Steen Library is a selective depository, choosing to receive 35% of the federal publications available through the Federal Depository Library Program. Materials support the university curriculum as well as general needs of students, staff, and the public.
INDEXES
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
Is a search and retrieval service that provides bibliographic records of U.S. Government information resources.
*Congress.gov The official website for U.S. federal legislative information. Includes activities of Congress, status and text of bills, committee reports and homepages, historical documents, and more.
*MarciveWeb DOCS The online catalog of U.S. Government Publications.
FEDERAL GOVERNMENT
General Information
The Avalon Project at Yale Law School
Pre 18th century - 20th century documents in law, history and government.
Federal Assistance
A government-wide compendium of Federal programs, projects, services, and activities which provide assistance or benefits to the American public. It contains financial and nonfinancial assistance programs administered by departments and establishments of the Federal government.
Fiscal Year Budget
from the Office of Management and Budget
Occupational Outlook Handbook
The Occupational Outlook Handbook is a nationally recognized source of career information, designed to provide valuable assistance to individuals making decisions about their future work lives.
Public Papers of the Presidents
Digital format of the Presidential papers from Hoover through Obama--with the exception of FDRoosevelt
Science.Gov
Provides a portal to authoritative selected science information from a variety of U.S. Government agencies, including research and development results.
Tax Information
Links to the IRS and other tax information and tax form web sites.
U.S. State and Local Government Information (Library of Congress Internet Resource Page)
State government information and resources for each of the 50 states, with meta-indexes that list resources in all states by subject.
United States Government Manual
As the official handbook of the Federal Government,l provides comprehensive information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches also includes information on quasi-official agencies; international organizations in which the United States participates; and boards, commissions, and committees.
Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents
Published every Monday, contains statements, messages, and other Presidential materials released by the White House during the preceding week.
Directory Information
Agency Index
Lists US Government agency homepages, publications, organization charts, forms and opinions.
topLegislative and Regulatory Information
Federal Register
Official daily publication for Rules, Proposed Rules, and Notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as Executive Orders and other Presidential Documents.
Code of Federal Regulations
A codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the Executive departments and agencies of the Federal Government.
Congressional Record
The official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress.
United States Code
The database contains the general and permanent laws of the United States.
A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation
U.S. Congressional Documents and Debates, 1774-1873.
TEXAS GOVERNMENT
General Information
The Texas Administrative Code (TAC)
This is a compilation of all state agency rules in Texas. There are 16 titles in the TAC. Each title represents a subject category, and related agencies are assigned to the appropriate title.
Texas Online
This site has information on traveling, working, and doing business in Texas, Texas state government which include information on Lotto, voter registration, schools, laws, state 1-800-numbers and city & county agencies.
Texas State Electronic Library
Includes Information on Texas state agencies, the Regional Councils of Government, Texas libraries, counties, cities, newspapers and many other sources. Also includes an information by subject gateway to internet resources.
Texas State Legislature Online
Provides information on Texas state congress, the legislative process and information, you can search bills, amendments and statutes, and find your state congressional incumbent. Includes link to the House & Senate Journals.
Texas Register Archives
Texas Register Available through a partenrship with the University of North Texas and The Office of the Texas Secretary of State. Seaching and access is for issues from 1991 up to six months ago. The most current 6 months of the TR is available on a subscription basis from the Texas Register website.
General and Special Laws of Texas
Available online through UNT's Portal to Texas History.
Texas Reports (Portal to Texas History)
"Decisions of the Supreme Court of the State of Texas since 1846. They provide a fascinating legal standpoint and vibrant cultural and political views of Texas through its history as part of the U.S. and the Confederacy. Of special interest are the Reconstruction-era volumes which illuminate changes in the Court under the unpopular Constitution of 1869."
TWDB provides leadership, information, education and support for the conservation and responsible development of water in Texas
Statistical Information
Texas Fact Book
(At the Legislative Budget Board) Capitol telephone numbers, elected officials, senate and house committees, basic steps in the Texas legislative process, state population, income, state budget, and more.
Texas Department of State Health Services
Provides a list of services and a variety of useful health data and information.
MAPS
The Steen Library map collection includes U.S. and World, topographic, geologic, demographic and land management maps. For more information contact a Research and Instructional Services Librarian.
Map Internet Sites
FEMA Map Service Center
View or download flood zone maps and other materials related to flood hazard areas.
Map sites
(At the University of Texas at Austin) This site has general area electronic maps and a large collection of map related internet sites including city map sites.
United Nations Geospatial Section
Map collection from the United Nations.
USGS Topographic Maps
View, order, or download a variety of maps published by the U.S. Geological Survey.
Statistical Information
data.census.gov
Access to Census Bureau data, including releases from 2018 American Community Survey, 2017 Economic Census, 2020 Census and more.
World Factbook
Published annually, by the Central Intelligence Agency, this is a handy reference work for basic statistical data on the countries of the world. Also, check out their appendices and maps at the bottom of the page.
International/Foreign Information
U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets
Full-text and updated periodically. Organized by region and country or international organization. History, government and political conditions are discussed, as well as the economy, foreign relations and basic travel information. Also listed are principal U.S. officials and consulate officers.
.
- General and Special Laws of Texas
Often known as "session laws", this complete set of bills is passed into law during each session of the Texas Legislature. They are assigned a chapter number by the Secretary of State and published as a bound set. - Texas Reports"Decisions of the Supreme Court of the State of Texas since 1846. They provide a fascinating legal standpoint and vibrant cultural and political views of Texas through its history as part of the U.S. and the Confederacy. Of special interest are the Reconstruction-era volumes which illuminate changes in the Court under the unpopular Constitution of 1869."
Need Help?
