Skip to Main Content





Open Educational Resources for English Courses at SFA

This LibGuide serves as a repository of Open Educational Resources which have been curated by SFA English faculty. For more information contact Rene Jones and Turevea Osborn

English Department Open Educational Resources Repository

Welcome to SFA's English and Creative Writing OER repository. You will find this content in this LibGuide organized by course number. To suggest resources for the repository, contact Rene Jones or Tureva Osburn

For more information about Open Educational Resources, please see our general OER LibGuide, or contact Collection Development Librarian Morgan Briles

ENGL 1301

Resources for English 1301: Rhetoric and Composition

Writing Spaces: Readings on Writing is a book series containing peer-reviewed collections of essays—all composed by teachers for students—with each volume freely available for download under a Creative Commons license. Writing Spaces aims to build a library of quality open access textbooks for the writing classroom as an alternative to costly textbooks.

Welcome to the Rhetoric and Composition Wikibook - designed for use as a textbook in first-year college composition programs, written as a practical guide for students struggling to bring their writing up to the level expected of them by their professors and instructors.

A Short Handbook for writing essays in the Humanities and Social Sciences - A retired master teacher of English and Comparative Literature teams up with his son, a History professor, on a new version of the writing manual he wrote and used for decades at the University of California, Davis.

English Composition I - English Composition I develops students’ critical reading, writing, and research skills at the college level, with course materials structured around essential parts of the academic writing process. Key topics include reading strategies; rhetorical modes, multiple stages of the writing process; how to conduct research and cite relevant sources; grammar and mechanics; and success strategies. Engaging, curated OER content includes text, video, interactive self-check activities, and more. Content works well for standard instruction or diagnostically to reinforce areas that need attention. This course may be used alone or as part of a three-level sequence that prepares students for college-level work.

English 1010: Open Essays - This is a compilation of open essays to supplement an argument and rhetoric class.

The Writing Center, UNC Chapel Hill - Guidelines for writing papers as well as outlines for assignments. 

Becoming a Successful Writer - This is a textbook meant to be imported into D2L.This eTextbook was built for you. It contains information to guide you in becoming the best writer you can become. Along the way, it includes tips, advice, and grammar help. 

Academic Writing I - An ebook focused on composition. Composition I focuses on principles of writing, critical reading and essay composition using rhetorical styles common in college-level writing (narrative, example/illustration, compare/contrast, cause-and-effect, argument).

Better Writing From the Beginning - An ebook that covers processes and fundamentals of writing expository essays, including structure, organization and development, diction and style, revision and editing, mechanics and standard usage required for college-level writing.

Antiracist Writing Assessment Ecologies: Teaching and Assessing Writing for a Socially Just Future - An ebook: In Antiracist Writing Assessment Ecologies, Asao B. Inoue theorizes classroom writing assessment as a complex system that is "more than" its interconnected elements. To explain how and why antiracist work in the writing classroom is vital to literacy learning, Inoue incorporates ideas about the white racial habitus that informs dominant discourses in the academy and other contexts. Inoue helps teachers understand the unintended racism that often occurs when teachers do not have explicit antiracist agendas in their assessments. Drawing on his own teaching and classroom inquiry, Inoue offers a heuristic for developing and critiquing writing assessment ecologies that explores seven elements of any writing assessment ecology: power, parts, purposes, people, processes, products, and places.

ENGL 1302

Resources for English 1302: Research and Argument

English 1010: Open Essays - This is a compilation of open essays to supplement an argument and rhetoric class.

The Writing Center, UNC Chapel Hill - Guidelines for writing papers as well as outlines for assignments.

Becoming a Successful Writer - This is a textbook meant to be imported into D2L.This eTextbook was built for you. It contains information to guide you in becoming the best writer you can become. Along the way, it includes tips, advice, and grammar help. 

Argument and Critical Thinking - In this learning area, you will learn how to develop an argumentative essay and stronger critical thinking skills. This learning area will help you develop your arguments, understand your audience, evaluate source material, approach arguments rhetorically, and avoid logical fallacies. Here, you’ll also learn about evaluating other arguments and creating digital writing projects related to your argument.

ENGL 2341

Resources for English 2341: Introduction to Literature

Literary Criticism: Introduction - A library guide from UT Arlington to all things related to literary criticism, including thesis examples. 

ENGL 2311

Resources for English 2311: Scientific and Technical Writing

Technical and Professional Writing Genres - This modern, open-source guide to technical and professional writing explores workplace composition through theoretical and practical applications. Discussions of multiple writing genres will assist you in understanding how to apply for jobs, how to compose clear and precise business communications once the job has been acquired, and how to create documents -- such as proposals and reports -- that will be instrumental in helping to advance your career.

Workplace Writing: A Handbook for Common Workplace Genres and Professional Writing - This handbook is designed for a generalized business writing course that seeks to meet the needs of a variety of student majors and career interests. In it you will find: descriptions and discussions of common genres, both routine and formal, print and electronic, and in-class activities and sample assignments. You will also find commentary on how to adapt the writing process to the rhetorical constraints of a workplace as well as how to think about, conduct, and use research outside an academic setting.

Open Technical Writing: An Open-Access Text for Instruction in Technical and Professional WritingThis book presents technical writing as an approach to researching and carrying out writing that centers on technical subject matter. Each and every chapter is devoted to helping students understand that good technical writing is situationally-aware and context-driven. Technical writing doesn’t work off knowing the one true right way of doing things—there is no magic report template out there that will always work. Instead, the focus is on offering students a series of approaches they can use to map out their situations and do research accordingly.