Skip to main content
My Library Account
Checked Out Items
Your Saved Searches
Research guide for music
Ralph W. Steen Library
R.W. Steen Library Catalog
Use the R.W. Steen Library Catalog to look up print and electronic books, as well as other locally-held materials.
A catalog of books and other materials owned by libraries worldwide.
MOST OF THESE BOOKS WILL NEED TO BE ORDERED THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN.
Finding Journal Articles
International Index of Music Periodicals
Abstracts and full-text articles on all aspects of music.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
Abstracts to scholarly journals, books, conference proceedings, and more on all aspects of music.
A trusted archive of full-text scholarly journals across all disciplines.
Academic Search Complete
With access to full-text articles in journals from many disciplines, this is an excellent resource for any subject.
Finding a Grove Music Online Article
Oxford Music Online
A gateway into music research, including the latest full-text of New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and New Grove Dictionary of Jazz. Subscription limit: 11 simultaneous users.
Finding Additional Electronic Resources
Musicians and Composers of the 20th Century may be accessed here!
Biography in Context
A full-text collection of biographical information on people throughout history.
Start your research by reading background information on over 3.6 million topics.
Oxford History of Western Music
Offers an account of the evolution of Western classical music by musicologist Richard Taruskin.
Annotated Bibliography Tutorial
MHL 245 Library Research/ Annotated Bibliography Assignment
Two (2) related books
One (1) related journal article
Grove Music Online article about your composer
One (1) additional electronic resource
Citing Your Sources
A Handbook for Writing For Use by Students in the School of Music
Citation Quick Guide
From the Chicago Manual of Style Online.
Chicago Manual of Style 17th Edition
From the Purdue Owl.
Citations & References Guide
From the AARC.
Naxos Streaming Music
Naxos Music Library
A comprehensive music website complete with composer biographies and online listening.
Student Engagement Librarian
Ralph W. Steen Library 202F
1936 North Street
Nacogdoches, TX 75962
Skype Contact: email@example.com
Having trouble? Need help? E-mail a librarian now!
Apr 14, 2020 10:54 AM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.