Skip to main content





Book Reviews

Resources for book reviews

EBSCO

EBSCO is a company that provides access to many individual databases. For book reviews, you'll want to search these EBSCO databases:

  • Academic Search Complete
  • Book Review Digest Plus
  • MLA International Bibliography

Fortunately, you can search all of these at once by following the directions below:

STEP 1: Access Academic Search Complete here: http://steenproxy.sfasu.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=a9h. Note that if you are off-campus, you will be asked to login with your SFA username and password.


STEP 2: Once in the Academic Search Complete database, click the link labeled Choose Databases.

EBSCO databases screenshot


STEP 3: A window will pop-up allowing you to select a variety of EBSCO databases. Academic Search Complete should already be selected. Add Book Review Digest Plus and MLA International Bibliography, then click the OK button.

EBSCO databases screenshot


STEP 4: After you click OK, you should be taken back to the search screen. In the search field, type the phrase "book review" (in quotation marks), followed by the word AND (in capital letters), followed by the title of your book (use quotation marks if multiple words). Here's an example using the book The Catcher in the Rye by J. D. Salinger.

EBSCO databases screenshot


STEP 5: Search results should appear. Note that not every entry will be relevant to what you want; that's the nature of research. You'll need to skim through the results to find the entries that you can use.